Sambo Kojin – SM Southmall

Hubby and I have been meaning to try out this buffet place at SM Southmall for weeks but we only found the time for it this Friday. Been hearing a lot of things about Sambo Kojin and I must admit, we did enjoy our dinner. The maki, sushi and sashimi table was my first stop. Everything was okay, but my favorite was the salmon sashimi.

As for the meat table, I prefer the salmon belly and the different kinds of beef. The bacon-wrapped asparagus was good too, but the bacon-wrapped shitake mushroom tasted really weird, though. It made the bacon taste funky.

The Japanese rice is also good, but next time I won't order it anymore. I didn't get to eat much of it anyway. I just enjoyed the sashimi and beef and I was all good. The plate of shrimp tempura wasn't too good, it was soggy by the time it got to our table.

If there's one thing that they need to work on, it's their desserts. The cakes were dry, and these shot glasses of sugar on steroid may look cute but they're just awful. That shot glass with the caramel and cream did not taste like either caramel or cream at all. I honestly did not take more than a spoonful of each shot glass.

Other than that, I am pretty much happy with the food, and the service is pretty friendly too. We're definitely planning to go back soon.

 

Leave a comment