Wee Nam Kee’s Hainanese Chicken

The best Hainanese chicken I have ever tasted was cooked by a good friend of mine. It was refined and hearty, and prepared with much love. The ginger sauce was superb. It was my first time to try Hainanese chicken, and I was absolutely hooked. Since then, my husband and I have tried Hainanese chicken from other restaurant but the one that comes closest to giving us a great culinary experience was the one served from Wee Nam Kee. The chicken was moist and delicately flavored with lemongrass. The chicken rice went very well with everything, and the ginger sauce (though a bit mushier than I preferred) was also yummy.

We also ordered chicken noodle soup, which was both pleasant and interesting. I never tasted chicken noodle soup where the soup has been reduced to a light sauce. The noodles have absorbed the essence of the chicken and each bite is pleasantly tasty and saucy. We finished our meal off with barley juice, which tasted like sweet pinipig flavored drink. It was refreshing and very healthy.

It was our first time to eat at Wee Nam Kee, and so far the experience is very positive. We're definitely going back.

Leave a comment